top of page

My Interview with Mikey Chapman of Mallory Knox


The beginning of the day began looking disastrous, and as the festival crew mulled around in the downpour and mud, many worried that the show would be ruined. As the sun came out, it’s easy to see that a little rain wasn’t about to ruin one band’s day. Mikey Chapman is all smiles as he sits down with Noise Cannon backstage. His band, rock outfit Mallory Knox, has just played Main Stage and nothing is about to dampen his spirit as he discusses being in a British band playing the US’ heralded Warped Tour.

Though the rain came heavy in the morning and pushed the whole schedule back two hours, Mallory Knox were given a spot on the Main Stage for the day. Chapman explains: “Today started very rough actually, it was a tough slot to get all the stuff to the stage in time. We were bumped to Main Stage, which was great news, but it also means a lot of stresses and strains to get things ready. The show was phenomenal, though, it really has made my day and I’m going to continue with a smile on my face.”

That performance must have had a big effect because Chapman chooses this date in Maryland as his favorite show on Warped so far. “I love the setting,” he gushes. “It’s very muddy and it’s a tough slot but it’s a beautiful place, it was a great show and it’s turning out to be a great day.” Their crowd was also much larger today, which is saying something for a band whose international popularity has yet to hit it big. Chapman goes on: “The thing about Warped Tour is that there are so many amazing bands playing and you’re always clashing. Sometimes you get a great slot, a slot that sort of misses all of those clashes, and you get to have a full crowd – today was absolutely one of those. We’re very grateful for the folks here getting involved.”

Seeing as Mallory Knox have played multiple festivals back in their home country, including Slam Dunk and Download, Chapman is able to see many differences when comparing them to Warped. “I’d say Warped Tour is probably around the same size, if not a little bit bigger, than Slam Dunk. Slam Dunk is a great festival back home that we love to play and it’s nice to have that link there. Download is a completely different kettle of fish – it’s far larger, it’s a couple of days, and it stays in the same place to so there’s none of the stresses and strains we have here for sure.”

He seems in awe of the complete production team with founder and organizer Kevin Lyman at the helm. “I think the logistics of Warped Tour are just incredible,” he states. “To do 50 shows, pack up every night, set up every morning, and to get all of these hundreds and hundreds of people mobilised and in the right place at the right time doing the right thing.”

As he starts talking about home, Chapman explains that he misses his dogs most while being on tour. “I love my dogs. My housemate send me a picture of one of them yesterday and I can’t lie I was kind of like ‘aw’,” he groans. “I hadn’t been missing anything up until then really. I miss my family and stuff but I know they’ll be there when I get home. But I sort of miss giving my dogs a cuddle because they don’t know why I’m away, you know?” he laughs. “They just think I’ve left them, which sucks.”

Mallory Knox have just released their newest album in the United States this June. “It’s been out for a couple of weeks so we’ve been pushing that more and more both online and through other outlets. We’re going back home for our biggest headlining tour to date at the end of September/early October and then we’re looking to go out to Europe pretty soon after that towards the end of the year. So yeah, plenty in the pipeline,” he grins with a bright smile.

Read the story on Noise Cannon at: http://noisecannon.com/2015/07/27/noise-cannon-meets-mikey-chapman-of-mallory-knox/

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page