top of page

"A Match Into Water" Song Interpretation

This analysis of the song is purely my interpretation based off of a few facts I know about the band. A Match into Water is a track off of Pierce the Veil’s most recent album Collide with the Sky. The lyrics are very deep and meaningful. Front man Vic Fuentes sings and screams the lyrics in angst, calling out to God, the world, anyone who will listen to his pain. Vic is writing the song about his ex girlfriend Cara (of Caraphernalia) who he still really good friends with. Cara got cancer and this song was in the midst of the treatment. He goes back and forth between feeling hope and feeling no hope. He goes between talking to Cara and talking to God. Screaming, begging, anger, sadness.

  • "A Match into Water" Title

  • Flame being put out, flame being dampened, life being smothered, darkened, put out, extinguished

  • The Lyrics

  • “I kissed the scars on her skin, I still think you’re beautiful and I don’t ever want to lose my best friend”

  • He’s worried for her life, the scars don’t bother him she’s still his same old girl

  • “I screamed out God you vulture, bring her back or take me with her”

  • once again angry with God, screaming how he likes the dead and wants to kill her, but Vic is saying either let her live or let him die as well

  • “Tear it down break the barricade, I wanna see what sound it makes, I hate the flavor with a passion and I fucking hate the aftertaste”

  • this is a little tougher to translate, I think this may be Vic speaking through Cara’s words, how she wants to rip apart the tubes running from her and how she hates how the cancer treatment tastes, or how Vic tastes sorrow and anger in his mouth

  • “How does it feel, well it feels like I’m on fire, wake up I know you can hear me”

  • Vic speaking for Cara saying the Chemo is like fire in her veins, and Vic telling her to wake up

  • “Make me a promise here tonight, love like a tidel wave, dreamless in early graves, never want it to be this way”

  • Promise being to stay alive? Vic loves her and doesn’t want her to die, their life was never supposed to be like that

  • “The chemicals will bring you home again”

  • Hopeful again, the chemo and medicine will work and bring Cara home again

  • “This is it, when its done, we can say that, when it’s sudden death we fight back”

  • Vic saying there’s no giving up, you have to fight back against cancer

  • “Don’t pretend like it don’t entice you, I seen you circling the sky above my head, You traitor!”

  • Anger at God once again, picturing him circling above their heads ready to take her away

  • “I will never be, taken for granted again.”

  • Either Vic or Cara will not take the other for granted ever again after this ordeal

  • “Say a prayer for you. I know that you’re in pain but if we die at the same time does it still scare you.”

  • Vic talking to Cara, he’s trying to say that if he’s with her it wont be as scary

  • “Make me a promise here tonight.”

  • promise to fight and not die

  • “This is it when its done, when you say that, oh well were not gonna make it”

  • hopelessness again

  • “We will bring the tidelwave, and nothing will remain.”

  • fighting against the cancer it will not remain

  • She’s mine! You stay away from her its not her time. Cause baby, I am the one who haunts her dreams at night until she’s satisfied."

  • Yelling at God, its not Cara’s time and he cant take her away, vic is the only one who can be in her dreams and keep her happy

  • “Fuck it.”

  • one final “screw cancer!”

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page